👊 Bump by Userfeed lets you schedule automated follow-ups directly from an Intercom conversation and automates snoozing and closing of conversations after no response from users. Bump saves you hours a week and ensures you're resolving your customers problems.
When you bump a conversation, we'll automatically snooze/close it for you. So you may want to send a reply to the user, then send your Bump that will also snooze/close the conversation.
When it's time for Bump to send a scheduled message, we first check to make sure there hasn't been activity in the conversation (e.g. the user replied and the conversation was reopened). If there's no new activity, we'll send your message and snooze/close the conversation. On the final bump message, we'll send it and then close or re-open the conversation. You have full control of the post message actions. Here's a demo of a common use case:
Where can I find Bump in Intercom?
Bump lives in the sidebar of your Inbox. You can add it to your sidebar by clicking Customize and choosing Bump by Userfeed from the app menu:
Pro tip: Place the Bump app at the top of your Inbox sidebar. Since Bump will likely be used often, you'll want easy access to it without having to scroll through other apps in your sidebar.
What time do bump messages get sent?
Messages are sent relative to when you create the bump. So if you bumped a conversation on July 1 at 11 am with 2 follow-ups, here's what the schedule would look like:
- Wait 1 day → Send a message on July 2 at 11 am
- Wait 3 days → Send a message on July 5 at 11 am
Will bump messages go out on weekends?
Nope! We automatically detect weekends when you bump a conversation. If one of your messages is set to a weekend, we'll shift the sequence forward until it hits the next weekday.
What happens if someone replies to a bump message?
If we detect any conversation activity, we'll automatically cancel the bump to avoid sending stale messages to the user. This applies to replies, state changes, and private notes. Once canceled, the Bump sequence will still show up in the inbox app until the date/time of the next message comes up, but rest assured, it will not send the next message. If you want you can also cancel it manually (see below).
Can I cancel an existing bump sequence?
Yes! You can cancel a bump sequence at any time directly in the Inbox. We also automatically cancel bumps if there has been activity in the conversation since the bump was originally scheduled.
Can we cancel a bump if a previous message is marked as seen?
No. Bump sequences will continue until all messages are sent, unless canceled manually or automatically due to conversation activity (user replies, state changes).
We think it's important to follow up even if a message has been read, as it ensures that users and prospects feel heard and not forgotten. It's also helpful in sales use cases, where you'll want to send follow-ups regardless of read state.
Read state is also unreliable, as certain email clients and browser extensions block the trackers that allows Intercom to mark a message as read.
How can I see my bumped conversations?
In your email inbox:
We send a daily digest in the morning showing you all messages that got sent yesterday and all messages that will be sent today.
As you bump conversations, we'll automatically tag conversations to make it easy to find bumped conversations in search and reports. Here are the tags and what they mean:
uf_bump:pending- you've bumped this conversation, but no scheduled messages have been sent yet
uf_bump:active- the bump is in progress
uf_bump:canceled- the bump was canceled (either manually by you or automatically by us due to conversation activity)
uf_bump:successful- all scheduled bumps were sent
We recommend creating Bump-specific Inbox Views using these tags to see conversations that are using Bump.
Note: A conversation will have just one of these tags at a time, as it represents the current state of the bump sequence.